The MCTC News Blog

Student Receives TRiO Leadership Award

Posted on: November 7th, 2011 by insidemctc 5 Comments

Rahel Haile, a TRiO Starting Point student, received the TRiO Leadership Award at the MAEOPP Adult Student Leadership Conference on Oct. 29.

She was recognized for her exemplary leadership in academics, school and the community. Haile has been a Starting Point peer mentor for three years and has provided many new students and nursing students wonderful, calming advice and plenty of encouragement. She has helped to develop and improve our mentoring program to help mentors connect with students in more ways. Ms. Haile will graduate this fall from MCTC with an Associate in Science degree in nursing.

MCTC Receives a 2010 Award for Excellence in Financial Management by Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System

Posted on: March 1st, 2011 by insidemctc No Comments

Awards recognizing excellence in financial and facilities management leadership and teamwork at the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities during 2010 were announced on Feb. 24.

Minneapolis Community and Technical College received an Excellence in Financial Management award.

The awards program, which began in 1997, publicly recognizes the outstanding contributions of the system’s college and university employees who work in finance and facilities management.

“We are proud that we have so many outstanding employees,” said Laura King, the system’s vice chancellor and chief financial officer. “With their leadership and the assistance of every employee at every Minnesota state college and university, tremendous progress continues in finance, facilities and administrative excellence.”

The 2010 award winners were selected from nominations made by presidents and college and university leadership. The awards and their recipients are:

Excellence in Financial Management awards are given for significant contributions to increased efficiency and effectiveness of finances and administrative services throughout the institution. This year’s winners are:

Bemidji State University; Hennepin Technical College; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Minnesota State College – Southeast Technical; Minnesota State University, Mankato; Riverland Community College; St. Cloud State University; St. Cloud Technical and Community College; Saint Paul College; and Winona State University.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities and community and technical colleges serving the higher education needs of Minnesota. The system serves about 277,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 157,000 students in noncredit courses.

Read the full announcement…

Dean Janis Hollenbeck Named National Council of Instructional Administrators Award Winner

Posted on: December 16th, 2010 by insidemctc No Comments

Dean Janis Hollenbeck

Janis Hollenbeck, dean of nursing at Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC), recently was selected to receive a 2010 Instructional Leadership Award from the National Council of Instructional Administrators (NCIA). She is one of four national award recipients who will be honored April 6 at the International Conference on College Teaching and Learning in Jacksonville, Fla.

The NCIA is a professional organization affiliated with the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). The Instructional Leadership awards were established in 2000 and are given annually to recognize exceptional instructional administrators who use creative and innovative approaches to leadership and make a substantial impact on the community colleges they serve.

“Dean Hollenbeck has been instrumental in obtaining grant funding from the National Science Foundation for STEM,” said MCTC President Phil Davis. “She led the development of our new program in biotechnology by hiring highly driven and successful faculty and by obtaining significant outside funding support through various grants, to purchase state-of-the-art lab equipment. Her leadership and vision to make improvements to our science facilities paved the way to legislative funding for the new $20 million science building on our campus.” She worked diligently to bring on three new A.S. degree programs in biology, biotechnology and chemistry.

Hollenbeck has a long and impressive history at MCTC. She began her tenure with Minneapolis Community College prior to the merger with Minneapolis Technical College to become Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC). Former MCTC vice president Josephine Reed-Taylor noted that she “provided oversight to the merger of the technical division that included aviation, HVAC, upholstery, public safety, and machine tool technology with that of the mathematics/science, computer science, and nursing division. Her stewardship during this time was instrumental to the success of the merger.”

Hollenbeck also worked to ensure that career and technical programs met industry standards and requirements, and successfully pursued regional and national accreditation. She was instrumental in growing MCTC’s nursing program to one of the largest in the state. She also served as dean of Math and Science for more than 10 years. She delayed her retirement to take on the role of interim dean of Nursing and Allied Health despite plans to retire.

“Dean Hollenbeck’s work has extended to creating articulation agreements across many campuses, to her efforts with the Preparing Future Faculty program at the University of Minnesota, to her work with advisory committees, to her work with Campus Compact on service learning for MCTC,” says Linnea Stenson, associate vice president and dean, Academic Affairs. “That her contributions have been significant to the development of academic affairs programming at our institution is an understatement. As she approaches retirement at the end of this calendar year, we are more conscious than ever before about what big shoes she will leave to be filled.”

“It’s very heartening to have one’s work recognized in this way, but it should be known that those who are so recognized stand on the shoulders of those who came before and mentored them along the way,” says Hollenbeck. “The mentors deserve recognition as well.”

The other award recipients are Peggy Blackmon, Dean of Allied Health, Business and Technology, Southeastern Community College, Whiteville, NC; Randy Kettler, Director of Basic Skills Neosho County Community College, Chanute, KS; Jerry Moller, Dean of Academic Transfer Programs Amarillo College, Amarillo, TX.