The MCTC News Blog

MCTC Student Geoffrey Dittberner Elected President of Minnesota State College Student Association

Posted on: April 21st, 2011 by insidemctc No Comments

MSCSA President Geoff Dittberner, Public Relations Coordinator David Corgan, Treasurer Alex Rodich and Vice President Darleen Tareeq. Photo by David Lancaster.

The Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) announced today that Geoffrey Dittberner was elected President of MSCSA for the 2011-12 academic year at the MSCSA Spring General Assembly on April 16. He was elected by student delegates from public two-year Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) institutions all over Minnesota.

The MSCSA President is the head of the organization, oversees other cabinet positions and has a direct hand in charting the association’s course during the coming year.

Dittberner is pursuing a Liberal Arts degree with a concentration in political science at Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC). He is a South Saint Paul resident who served as the MSCSA Vice President during the 2010-11 year.

As Vice President, Geoff Dittberner helped plan and execute MSCSA’s “Get Out the Vote” efforts in the fall of 2010, registering over 5,000 voters statewide. Dittberner was also named a member of 2011 All-USA Community College Academic Team and Coca-Cola New Century Scholar this April.

The Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) represents students attending the state’s two-year technical, community, and comprehensive colleges on 47 campuses advocating for more than 100,000 students across the state.

Student Senate President Bradley Conley Receives MSCSA Leadership Scholarship

Posted on: January 26th, 2011 by insidemctc No Comments

Bradley T. Conley, President of MCTC’s Student Senate, was a recipient of a Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) Leadership Scholarship at the 2011 MSCSA Leadership Scholarship Dinner on January 7. Senator Amy Klobuchar was a speaker at the event.

Senator Amy Klobuchar, Mara Brogan, a scholarship winner from Vermillion and Bradley Conley

Senator Amy Klobuchar; Mara Brogan, a scholarship winner from Vermillion, and Bradley Conley at the MSCSA Leadership Scholarship Dinner

Bradley says, “The scholarship is a tremendous honor and affirms my belief that a life dedicated to the betterment and empowerment of less privileged and those struggling with addiction has many rewards.” Bradley is working on his A.S. degree in Addiction Counseling.

The Leadership Scholarship builds a partnership between students, alumni, and friends of MSCSA to support student leaders across Minnesota. The scholarship rewards emerging student leaders for their community service and their academic achievement. Scholarship winners serve their community in many ways–everything from mentoring Head Start students to organizing youth groups to volunteering as a translator. Scholarships are awarded to undergraduate students who demonstrate strong leadership skills and a commitment to serving others.

Bradley’s work with the community has been extensive. He is the MCTC Student Representative with the Citizens for a Loring Park Community. He serves as the Metro West Region Representative for MSCSA. He is a member of the Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health (MARRCH) Ethics Committee. Bradley is the founder of Integrated Minnesota Partnership for Addiction Counselors of Tomorrow (IMPACT) and a former President of MCTC’s Addiction Counseling Club.

Congratulations, Bradley!

MCTC Students Elected to MSCSA Cabinet

Posted on: April 30th, 2010 by insidemctc No Comments

The Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) elects two MCTC students to its 2010-11 Cabinet. Geoff Dittberner was elected Vice President. James Askew will be the Public Relations Coordinator. Congratulations Geoff and James! Read more…

Bookmark and Share